Posted by Ticketstroom – 12 July 2017

Across hundreds of registered comedians, following thousands of votes, the Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards is thrilled to announce the nominees in this year’s 11 award categories.
Comedians, media and industry were the first to hear the names called out at a special press lunch held on Wednesday 12 July 2017 at Katzy’s in Rosebank.

Comedians vote for their fellow comedians, ultimately determining who will be nominated and then go on to receive a Waldo (the Savanna Comics’ Choice AwardsPosted Statuette), making the awards one of the highest accolades a comedian can receive in South Africa, and Africa.

The Savanna Comic's Choice Awards Nominees have been confirmed.

The Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards Nominees have been confirmed.

This year’s nominees are (in no particular order):

Breakthrough Award
• Skhumba Hlophe
• Alfred Adriaan
• Loyiso Gola
• Robby Collins
• Tumi Morake

Savanna Newcomer of the Year
• Thabiso Mhlongo
• Tsitsi Chiumya
• Bongani Dube
• Eric Jansen
• Summary

Intermediate Award
• Ebenhaezer Dibakwane
• Virgil Prins
• Glen Biderman-Pam
• Noko Moswete
• Mo Mothebe

Non-English Comic Award
• Salesman
• Skhumba Hlophe
• Celeste Ntuli
• Mashabela Galane
• Thapelo King Flat Mametja

Flying Solo Award
• Skhumba Hlophe
• Carvin H Goldstone
• Celeste Ntuli
• Loyiso Gola
• Mashabela Galane

Comics’ Pen Award
• Mojak Lehoko
• Trevor Noah
• Muzi Dlamini
• Lazola Gola
• Karabo Lediga

The Nando’s Best Friend of Comedy
• Goliath & Goliath
• David Kau – Blacks Only
• Carvin H Goldstone
• On Fire Comedy
• Armchair – Gino Fernandez

Savanna Comic of the Year
• Skhumba Hlophe
• Loyiso Gola
• Carvin H Goldstone
• Celeste Ntuli
• Kagiso KG Mokgadi

Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year Award
• Patrick Idringi (aka Salvado) from Uganda
• Bright Okpocha (aka Basketmouth) from Nigeria
• Carl Joshua Ncube from Zimbabwe
• Tshepo “Masapo” Mpiti from Lesotho
• Fernando Filipe from Angola

Savanna Audience Choice Award
• Elton Mduduzi Ntuli (unique voting code: 17163)
• Pelepele Mchunu (unique voting code: 58085)
• Thapelo Maila (unique voting code: 72116)
• Luphelo Kodwa (unique voting code: 40009)
• Thabang ER (unique voting code: 68906)

Make sure to cast your vote for the comedian of your choice below by texting their unique code and your name to 45757 (each SMS is charged at R1.50 and errors will be billed. Free minutes do not apply). You can vote up to 20 times.

A highlight of every nominee announcement is the Lifetime Achiever. This prestigious award is made to an act with 20 years or more experience in comedy. The Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards is honoured to announce that Cyril Green is this year’s Lifetime Achiever recipient.

Cyril Green, this year's Savanna Comic's Choice Life Time Achiever Recipient.

Cyril Green, this year’s Savanna Comics’ Choice Life Time Achiever Recipient.

Be sure to book your tickets for the Lifetime Achiever “Grilling of a Lifetime” on 16 August 2017 at Parker’s Comedy Club, where Cyril will be roasted by his fellow comedians. This is a unique format that makes for a phenomenal, once-off, limited experience for comedy fans.

Of course, it all culminates on 9 September at the Lyric Theatre at Gold Reef City when the Savanna CCA’s main awards takes place. Look forward to an incredible show featuring some of the best comedy, stand-up, skits and production you’re bound to see in one sitting.

Ticketstroom will also be attending the Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards and will give you a front row experience. All you need to do is follow on Facebook and Twitter.

Previous post

STORM To Release Song Against Hunger

Next post

BossLady Conversations With Boutique Media

No Comment

Leave a reply