Posted by Ticketstroom – 19 January 2017

Top SABC commercial radio station, Metro FM held its 16th Metro FM Music Awards nominees ceremony in Bryanston, Johannesburg. The awards ceremony is scheduled for the 25th of February 2017 at the iNkosi Albert Lithuli International Convention Centre (ICC) in Durban. Voting lines are officially open and will close at 23:59 on Sunday the 12th of February 2017.

It is no surprise that the Afro-Soul songstress Amanda Black leads the nominations after a fruitful 2016 with great collaborations and her divine work. The “Amazulu” hitmaker is leading with five nominations for: best pop, best female, best R&B, best new artist and song of the year. She is leading the pack and is followed by West Ink’s Babes Wodumo and Kwesta respectively.

16th Metro FM Music Awards theme, "What's Next Is All That Matters."

16th Metro FM Music Awards theme, “What’s Next Is All That Matters.”

The categories have increased over the past years since the inception of the Metro FM Music Awards, the awards are not limited to local talent only but also recognises continental talent. This year there is an inclusion of the One Africa Award and nominated artists are: Tekno, Vee Mampeezy, Tiwa Savage, Kommanda Obbs and Patoranking.

The 16th Metro FM Music Awards’ theme is “What’s next is all that matters,” following on from the 15th Metro FM Music Awards theme being, “Legends don’t stop, they ask what’s next.” The theme is a sequel and is used to encourage artists not to focus on the grand prize, but to continue their legacy.

Each award that is up for grabs comes with a R100 000 cash incentive.

Coming in with the most number of nominations is Amanda Black.

Coming in with the most number of nominations is Amanda Black.

The Full List Of Nominees

African Pop Album: Musa – Mr Serious, Amanda Black – Amazulu, Vusi Nova – Naninina, Soul Kulture – Ngeliny’langa and Sjava – Isina Muva.

Best Collaboration: Ms Pru – Ameni, Bucie – Rejoice, DJ Speesta – Mayo and Kwesta – Mayibabo.

Best Compilation Album: DJ Tokzen – Mmthi’s Essential Selections 7, DJ Qness – Essential Selections, DJ Fresh – Fresh House Flava Vol 7.

Best Dance Album: Babes Wodumo – Gqom Queen Vol 1, Dr Malinga – Goodwill, Mobi Dixon – Live The Music, Mpumi – The Birth Of Mpumi and DJ Merlon – Original Copy.

Best Female Album: Amanda Black – Amazulu, Babes Wodumo – Gqom Queen, Kelly Khumalo – My Truth, Lebo Sekgobela – Restored and Brenda Mntambo – So Much Love.

Best Group Album: Jeziel Brothers – Out Of The Box, The Soil – Echoes Of Kofifi, Soul Kulture – Ngeliny’langa, Durbans Finest – Reloaded, Encore – Encore.

Best Hit Single: Citi Lyts – Vura, Riky Rick – Sidlukotini, AKA – One Time, Ms Pru -Ameni and DJ Speedsta – Mayo.

Best Hip Hop Album: Kwesta – Dakar, A Reece – Paradise, Anatii – Artifact, Nasty C – Bad Hair Extension and DJ Slique – Inayam Vol 1.

Best Kwaito Album: Mshoza – Abantu Bam, L’vovo – Amatin tin, Vetkoek and Mahoota – Sohamba ngo7 and Sosha – Good Times.

Best Male Album: Nasty C – Bad Hair extensions, Kwesta – Dakar 2, Sjava – Isina Muva, Mobi Dixon- Live the Music and A Reece – Paradise.

Best Music Video: Duboiz – Dope Dream, Benchmarq – All on Me, Khuli Chana – One Source, Mafikizolo – Kucheza and Anatii – Jump.

Best New Artist: Babes Wodumo, Nasty C, Amanda Black, Sjava and Soul Kulture.

Best Urban Gospel Album: Dr Tumi – Love & Grace, Lebo Sekgobela – Restored, Joyous Celebration – Joyous 20, We will Worship – Mmuso and Khaya Mthethwa- The Dawn.

Best Urban Jazz Album: Jimmy Dludlu – In The Groove, Brenda Mntambo – So Much Love,  Thandiswa Mazwai – Belede, Hugh Masekela – No Borders and Henry Philemon – Man Of Defination.

Best R&B Single: Amanda Black – Separate, Floda – Decapitate Me, Charlie – As Long As You, Zonke – Funky Lovin and Joocy – Thathinhliziyo.

Best Remix: DJ Ganyani – Talk to me, Prince Kaybee – Don’t Give Up, Thee Legacy – Wena, Wedwa Bob”Ezy – Close To You, Thee Lagacy – Sthandwa Sami.

The Song Of The Year Nominees.

The Song Of The Year Nominees.

The 16th Metro FM Awards tickets will also be available to the public. Ticketstroom will have front row seats to this prestigious award ceremony bringing you all the juice. All you need to do is keep following Ticketstroom on Facebook and Twitter for all the breaking news.

Previous post

A Major Events Brings Fokofpolisiekar To The Quarry

Next post

The NSBC Summit - Africa’s Largest Entrepreneurial Event

No Comment

Leave a reply